Trying a new technique – slip trailing

Every now and then (Ok, so maybe it’s often) I like to try something new. I wanted to add some texture to my pieces without using lace, or in addition to it, so I thought I’d give slip trailing a go.

Slip trailing is using liquid porcelain (knows as slip) to leave raised dots or lines on a piece. When fired, it fuses with the piece and becomes one. This technique is very time consuming and requires a steady hand, but I really enjoy it and it gives a piece a totally different look.

Here are a few that I’ve been working on. Most of which are listed in my Etsy and Madeit shops.

Round ring dish_green with dots_3 Flower ring dish_grey with blue dots_3 Pink angles with dots_3 Large rectangle dish_pink dots_2 Heart ring dish_raised pink dots_1 Heart ring dish_outlined flowers blue_1 Heart ring dish_Lace and pink dots_1

One thought on “Trying a new technique – slip trailing

  1. Christine says:

    Beautiful work! x

Leave a Reply

